SHARC-Net: Shared Hierarchical Academic Research Computing Network

SHARC-Net is a hierarchical network of computer clusters to be used for computational modelling of complex systems. The network spans five universities (Guelph, McMaster, Western Ontario, Wilfrid Laurier and Windsor) and two colleges (Sheridan and Fanshawe) in South-Western Ontario.The primary compute-nodes are located at McMaster University, the University of Guelph and the University of Western Ontario. High speed fibre networks will connect the clusters at McMaster, Western and Guelph.

"The vision of SHARC-Net is to provide the capital infrastructure to establish in Canada a world-leading, multi-university, interdisciplinary institute for computational research in critical areas of science, engineering, and business."

SHARC-Net will focus on five core areas of research:

  1. Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials
  2. Biocomputation
  3. Fluid Dynamics in Engineering, Astrophysics and Geophysics
  4. Business and Finance
  5. High Performance Computing, High Throughput Computing Networking

Funding for SHARC-Net has come from: